Entertainment Weekly

Subscribe

Stay Connected

Subscribe

Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content

TV

Fox sets fall premiere dates

See when new shows like ‘The Orville’ debut and staples like ‘Empire’ return

Posted on

Mutants, ghosts, and aliens are all coming to Fox this fall; the network announced its fall premiere dates on Thursday, both for new offerings like The Orville and returning staples like Empire and Brooklyn Nine-Nine.

The Fox season will kick off on Sunday, Sep. 10 when The Orville debuts immediately following an NFL on Fox double-header. The science-fiction dramedy stars Seth MacFarlane as the captain, and the pilot, directed by Jon Favreau (Iron Man), is split into two parts, with the second installment debuting Sunday, Sep. 17, following another football double-header. The series will then take its official Thursday night time slot on Sep. 28, following the season 4 premiere of Gotham.

Tuesday, Sep. 26 will see the season 2 premieres of Lethal Weapon and The Mick, followed by the season 5 premiere of Brooklyn Nine-Nine. Empire and Star return on Wednesday, Sep. 27, while new seasons of Hell’s Kitchen and The Exorcist debut Friday, Sep. 29. Sunday, Oct. 1 will be a comedy feast as Bob’s Burgers, The Simpsons, Family Guy, and The Last Man on Earth all premiere their new seasons. The new Adam Scott/Craig Robinson paranormal comedy, Ghosted, will also debut that night, smack-dab between The Simpsons and Family Guy. Fans of Fox’s more comic book-influenced shows will have to wait until Monday, Oct. 2 for the return of Lucifer and the premiere of The Gifted.

Check out the full Fox premiere schedule below.

Sunday, Sept. 10
8 p.m. – The Orville (Special Series Premiere, Part 1)

Sunday, Sept. 17
8 p.m. – The Orville (Special Series Premiere, Part 2)

Tuesday, Sept. 26
8 p.m. – Lethal Weapon
9 p.m. – The Mick
9:30 p.m. – Brooklyn Nine-Nine

Wednesday, Sept. 27
8 p.m. – Empire
9 p.m. – Star

Thursday, Sept. 28
8 p.m. – Gotham
9 p.m. – The Orville (Time Period Series Premiere)

Friday, Sept. 29
8 p.m. – Hell’s Kitchen
9 p.m. – The Exorcist

Sunday, Oct. 1
7:30 p.m. – Bob’s Burgers
8 p.m. – The Simpsons
8:30 p.m. – Ghosted
9 p.m. – Family Guy
9:30 p.m. – The Last Man On Earth

Monday, Oct. 2
8 p.m. – Lucifer
9 p.m. – The Gifted