Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


This year's Pulitzer Prize winners include The Underground Railroad, Evicted

The full list was announced on Monday

Posted on

This year’s Pulitzer Prize winners for excellence in literature, journalism, music, and photography were announced Monday via a live-stream on YouTube.

Big winners in the Letters and Drama segment included Colson Whitehead’s much-lauded novel The Underground Railroad for Fiction and Matthew Desmond’s Evicted for Non-Fiction.

Last year’s notable winners included Lin-Manuel Miranda’s Hamilton for Drama and Viet Thanh Nguyen’s The Sympathizerfor Fiction.

Check out the full list of winners below, and watch the announcement video, above.


Public Service: The New York Daily News and ProPublica

Breaking News Reporting: The East Bay Times

Investigative Reporting: Eric Eyre of The Charleston Gazette Mail

Explanatory Reporting: The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy, The Miami Herald

Local Reporting: The Salt Lake Tribune

National Reporting: David A. Fahrenthold, The Washington Post

International Reporting: The New York Times

Feature Writing: C.J. Chivers, The New York Times

Commentary: Peggy Noonan, The Wall Street Journal

Criticism: Hilton Als, The New Yorker

Editorial Writing: Art Cullen, The Storm Lake Times

Editorial Cartooning: Jim Morin, The Miami Herald

Breaking News Photography: Daniel Berehulak

Feature Photography: E. Jason Wambsgans, The Chicago Tribune

Letters and Drama

Fiction: The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

Drama: Sweat Lynn Nottage

History: Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising in 1971 and Its Legacy by Heather Ann Thompson 

Biography or Autobiography: The Return Hisham Matar

Poetry: Olio by Tyehimba Jess

General Non-Fiction: Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond

Music: Angel’s Bone by Du Yun