About Your Privacy on this Site
Welcome! To bring you the best content on our sites and applications, Meredith partners with third party advertisers to serve digital ads, including personalized digital ads. Those advertisers use tracking technologies to collect information about your activity on our sites and applications and across the Internet and your other apps and devices.
You always have the choice to experience our sites without personalized advertising based on your web browsing activity by visiting the DAA’s Consumer Choice page, the NAI's website, and/or the EU online choices page, from each of your browsers or devices. To avoid personalized advertising based on your mobile app activity, you can install the DAA’s AppChoices app here. You can find much more information about your privacy choices in our privacy policy. Even if you choose not to have your activity tracked by third parties for advertising services, you will still see non-personalized ads on our sites and applications. By clicking continue below and using our sites or applications, you agree that we and our third party advertisers can:
  • transfer your data to the United States or other countries; and
  • process and share your data so that we and third parties may serve you with personalized ads, subject to your choices as described above and in our privacy policy.
Entertainment Weekly

The Awardist

L.A. Film Critics declare Call Me by Your Name best film of 2017: See the full winners list

Sony Pictures Classics

This time of year, another weekend means another round of precursor awards action in the run-up to the Oscars, and Sunday’s Los Angeles Film Critics Association honors are poised to generate some extra heat for 2017’s crop of contenders.

Playing a key role in the publicity machine that either makes or breaks would-be Oscar competitors, critics circles from coast to coast — including New York’s influential arm, which named Greta Gerwig’s Lady Bird the best film of the year on Thursday —typically provide a vital visibility boost to fringe contenders jockeying for positioning in the race; they can also continue the momentum generated by steadfast contenders that have already made a strong imprint on the trail thus far.

With no clear-cut frontrunner in the race for best picture, this year the critics sit at a unique place at the head of the precursor stretch, their voices amplified as industry voters search for a priority picture to rally around before the guilds begin their nominations announcements in the days ahead (namely the Screen Actors Guild, which reveals its list of annual honorees Dec. 13). The LAFCA helped carve a potential path to Oscar glory for the stunning same-sex romance Call Me by Your Name, which took the group’s top honor, while director Luca Guadagnino tied with Guillermo del Toro (The Shape of Water) in the association’s best director match.

Since 2006, the LAFCA has correctly foretold the academy’s top honoree three times; in 2009 (Kathryn Bigelow’s The Hurt Locker), in 2015 (Tom McCarthy’s Spotlight) and last year, when Barry Jenkins’ Moonlight triumphed with the LAFCA in anticipation of taking the Oscar for best picture.

While Del Toro’s The Shape of Water made strong showings on the fall festival circuit (and emerged with the Venice Film Festival’s top prize), weeks of subsequent speculation that the sci-fi romance would perform well on the precursor scene quickly dwindled as it missed out on the National Board of Review’s top 10 films, and later received zero recognition from the NYFCC. That changed Sunday, however, as the LAFCA facilitated star Sally Hawkins’ first major stride into the best actress conversation with a well deserved honor in the lead category. Call Me by Your Name breakout Timothée Chalamet continued his early dominance with the critics groups as well, picking up the LAFCA award for best actor after winning the same award from the NYFCC on Thursday.

In terms of acting wins across the last decade, the LAFCA has heralded an eventual Oscar-winning performance from a leading actress five times (Helen Mirren, Marion Cotillard, Jennifer Lawrence, Cate Blanchett, and Patricia Arquette), with three further victors (Emmanuelle Riva, Charlotte Rampling, Isabelle Huppert) going on to receive Academy Award nominations. Across the same period, four of the LAFCA’s best actor champions (Daniel Day-Lewis, Sean Penn, Jeff Bridges, Colin Firth) have translated those victories into Oscar success stories as well.

Another such awards hopeful who received an encouraging push Sunday from the LAFCA is Willem Dafoe, whose performance in The Florida Project adds yet another award to the veteran actor’s ballooning mantle of trophies won this year, as he nabbed similar recognition from the NYFCC and the National Board of Review earlier this week.

The LAFCA’s taste in supporting actors has been hit-or-miss when it comes to academy crossover, with the groups sharing six mutual winners in the category since 2007, though none of the LAFCA’s choices from the remaining years went on to bag an Oscar nod.

On the women’s side, Laurie Metcalf garners her second major victory of the season for her supporting role in Lady Bird, just days after taking the National Board of Review award in the same category. The LAFCA hasn’t correctly predicted the academy’s best supporting actress winner since 2013, when Lupita Nyong’o won for 12 Years a Slave.

Check out a full list of the 2017 LAFCA Award winners below.

Best Picture

WINNER: Call Me by Your Name

RUNNER-UP: The Florida Project

Best Director

WINNERS (TIE): Guillermo del Toro — The Shape of Water / Luca Guadagnino — Call Me by Your Name

Best Actor

WINNER: Timothée Chalamet — Call Me by Your Name

RUNNER-UP: James Franco — The Disaster Artist 

Best Actress

WINNER: Sally Hawkins — The Shape of Water

RUNNER-UP: Frances McDormand — Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Supporting Actor

WINNER: Willem Dafoe — The Florida Project

RUNNER-UP: Sam Rockwell — Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Supporting Actress

WINNER: Laurie Metcalf — Lady Bird

RUNNER-UP: Mary J. Blige — Mudbound

Best Animation

WINNER: The Breadwinner


Best Foreign Language Film

WINNERS (TIE): BPM (Beats Per Minute) / Loveless

Best Documentary

WINNER: Faces Places


Best Screenplay

WINNER: Jordan Peele — Get Out

RUNNER-UP: Martin McDonagh — Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Editing

WINNER: Lee Smith — Dunkirk

RUNNER-UP: Tatiana S. Riegel — I, Tonya

Best Production Design

WINNER: Dennis Gassner — Blade Runner 2049

RUNNER-UP: Paul D. Austerberry — The Shape of Water

Best Music Score

WINNER: Jonny Greenwood — Phantom Thread

RUNNER-UP: Alexandre Desplat — The Shape of Water

Best Cinematography

WINNER: Dan Laustsen — The Shape of Water

RUNNER-UP: Roger Deakins — Blade Runner 2049