Jamie McKelvie
November 18, 2016 at 12:00 PM EST

America yes!

A little more than a month after Marvel announced a solo series for America Chavez at New York Comic Con, the company has finally revealed the series’ creative team.

As first reported by Refinery29, YA novelist Gabby Rivera (Juliet Takes a Breath) will write the series, while Joe Quinones (Howard the Duck) will serve as the series’ artist, and Maguerite Sauvage as cover artist. The new series will see the young hero face off against alien hordes and travel through different dimensions, while also trying to attend class on alternate Earths and make space for her personal life. 

“America doesn’t know how powerful she is, but she’s gonna find out. And the powers she does have are going to be expanded upon and she’s going to learn how to control and develop them,” says Rivera of what readers can expect from the upcoing series. “Some of the really fun Marvel moments are gonna be when we bring in key players like Captain America and Storm. They are going to be able to help America on her journey. And teach her things about her powers or lead her along the way.” 

Created by Joe Casey and Nick Dragotta, Chavez — a queer Latina raised in another dimension — first appeared in their 2011 series Vengeance. Since then, she has taken on the mantle of Miss America from Madeline Joyce, and gone on to earn herself a loyal fan following.

“America has one of the most dedicated and enthusiastic fanbases out there, so we wanted to make sure we could deliver a solo series worthy of that devotion,” says editor Will Moss. “That’s why we’re so thrilled to welcome Gabby Rivera to the Marvel fold, as she’s got America’s voice down pat, plus she’s got a ton of surprising and fun ideas for the series. And combining that with the one-of-a-kind stylings of the great Joe Quinones? Well, we’re ready to deliver that solo series now.”

Chavez was a member of Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie’s Young Avengers, and has appeared in G. Willow Wilson, Marguerite Bennett, and Jorge Molina’s A-Force series.

The solo series is a part of Marvel’s attempts to create a more inclusive roster of superheroes, which sees an African-American Iron Man, female Thor (Jane Foster), Asian Hulk (Amadeus Cho), and black-Hispanic Spider-Man (Miles Morales). 

America will be out March 2017.

View Quinones’ character design from the series, as well as Jamie McKelvie and Marguerite Sauvage’s variant covers (among others) of the series’ first issue, below. 




Joe Quinones

Marguerite Sauvage

Jamie McKelvie

You May Like