Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


National Book Award finalists incude Colson Whitehead, Nicola Yoon

Posted on

The National Book Award shortlists were announced Thursday morning via Facebook Live on The New Yorker magazine’s Facebook page. The slate includes some obvious choices — like Colson Whitehead’s highly-praised, Oprah-approved The Underground Railroad in the fiction category — and all-around literary stars, like Viet Thanh Nguyen’s nonfiction offering, Nothing Ever Dies: Vietnam and the Memory of War, which follows last year’s Pulitzer Prize-winning novel, The Sympathizer.

The final shortlists are below. Winners will be announced on November 16, 2016.


  • Chris Bachelder, The Throwback Special
  • Paulette Jiles, News of the World 
  • Karan Mahajan, The Association of Small Bombs
  • Colson Whitehead, The Underground Railroad
  • Jacqueline Woodson, Another Brooklyn


  • Arlie Russell Hochschild, Strangers in Their Own Land: Anger and Mourning on the American Right 
  • Ibram X. Kendi, Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America 
  • Viet Thanh Nguyen, Nothing Ever Dies: Vietnam and the Memory of War 
  • Andrés Reséndez, The Other Slavery: The Uncovered Story of Indian Enslavement in America  
  • Heather Ann Thompson, Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy 



  • Daniel Borzutzky, The Performance of Becoming Human
  • Rita Dove, Collected Poems 1974 – 2004
  • Peter Gizzi, Archeophonics
  • Jay Hopler, The Abridged History of Rainfall
  • Solmaz Sharif, Look