Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content
Join our live viewing party of the 'This Is Us' season premiere.

This is Us

Tonight at 9PM ET


Kid Cudi releases Pharrell collaboration from Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin

The rapper debuts ‘Frequency’ and the Pharrell-produced ‘Surfin”

Posted on

Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images

Kid Cudi has dropped two new songs to hold fans over until his next album comes out.

The rapper released “Surfin'” with Pharrell and “Frequency” on Friday evening, the day Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin’ was expected to be released before it was delayed.

Pharrell produced “Surfin'” which features a percussive base, a cheery guitar riff, and horns. “Now I ain’t riding no waves, too busy making my own wave, baby,” Cudi raps.

Meanwhile, the more somber “Frequency” sees the Cleveland native sing-rapping his way through the chorus. The track initially appeared in March and sounds similar to that version.

Cudi announced Thursday evening that Demon Slayin’ would not arrive Friday “due to some minor sample clearances.” He did not say when the album would be released. “No one could be more excited and anxious for you to consume the magical musical candy I’ve prepared for you these past 5 months,” he tweeted.

Listen to the two songs on iTunes, using the link below. Demon Slayin’ will feature songs with André 3000, Willow Smith, Travis Scott, and Pharrell.