Entertainment Weekly

Stay Connected

Subscribe

Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content

Article

Gwen Stefani releases gorgeous 'Misery' video

Posted on

“Misery,” the third single off Gwen Stefani’s stellar third solo LP, This Is What The Truth Feels Like, has gotten a visual — and it’s a high-fashion affair.

Directed by Sophie Muller — who Stefani has collaborated with for two decades, but most recently for the “Used To Love You” music video — the clip sees Stefani exploring various corners of a warehouse, decked out in gorgeous garbs.

When EW spoke with the star in advance of her summer tour, which launches July 12 in Massachusetts, she said Muller had moved in to help prep for this video as well as the visuals for the Truth tour backdrops. “She’s like living in my house,” Stefani said with a laugh. “We just bought each other matching rings for our 20th anniversary. [And] we’re going to shoot the video for ‘Misery’ tomorrow. When the kids leave it’s like, ‘What do we need to get done?'”

“Misery” is one of the songs off Truth that was inspired by the singer’s relationship with her Voice co-judge Blake Shelton. In advance of the album she told EW she wasn’t nervous about sharing such personal fare with her listeners. “I don’t have any secrets; I don’t have anything to hide,” she said. “I haven’t done anything wrong. I’m happy to share my story. [This] is really the only record I’ve written that’s mostly happy; all the others are about heartbreak. And there’s some of that on here — it needed that, to make the rest feel as good as it feels.”

The video is streaming below. A full list of tour dates follows. 

Tuesday, July 12: Mansfield, MA @ Xfinity Center

Saturday, July 16: Virginia Beach, VA @ Veterans United Home Loans Amphitheater

Sunday, July 17: Bristow, VA @ Jiffy Lube Live

Tuesday, July 19: Camden, NJ @ BB&T Pavilion

Thursday, July 21: Wantagh, NY @ Nikon at Jones Beach Theater

Saturday, July 23: Charlotte, NC @ PNC Music Pavilion

Sunday, July 24: Raleigh, NC @ Walnut Creek Amphitheater

Tuesday, July 26: Tampa, FL @ MIDFLORIDA Credit Union Amphitheater

Wednesday, July 27: West Palm Beach, FL @ Perfect Vodka Amphitheater

Friday, July 29: Alpharetta, GA @ Verizon Wireless Amphitheater

Sunday, July 31: Noblesville, IN @ Klipsch Music Center

Wednesday, August 02: Detroit, MI @ DTE Energy Music Theater

Thursday, August 04: Toronto, ON @ Molson Canadian Amphitheater

Saturday, August 06: Chicago, IL @ Hollywood Casino Amphitheater

Sunday, August 07: Saint Paul, MN @ Xcel Energy Center

Tuesday, August 09: Cincinnati, OH @ Riverbend Music Center

Wednesday, August 10: St. Louis, MO @ Hollywood Casino Amphitheater

Friday, August 12: Kansas City, MO @ Sprint Center

Saturday, August 13: Dallas, TX @ Gexa Energy Pavilion

Sunday, August 14: Houston, TX @ Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion

Tuesday, August 16: Austin, TX @ Austin360 Amphitheater

Friday, August 19: Las Vegas, NV @ T-Mobile Arena

Saturday, August 20: Fresno, CA @ Save Mart Center

Wednesday, August 24: Seattle, WA @ KeyArena

Thursday, August 25: Vancouver, BC @ Pepsi Live @ Rogers Arena

Saturday, October 8: Mountain View, CA @ Shoreline Amphitheater

Saturday, October 15: Los Angeles, CA @ The Forum

Comments