Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content
Join our live viewing party of the 'This Is Us' season premiere.

This is Us

Tonight at 9PM ET


Vinyl soundtrack from HBO includes Otis Redding, Sturgill Simpson

Posted on

The soundtrack for HBO’s Vinyl is just as stacked as the show — produced by Martin Scorsese, Mick Jagger, and Terence Winter — itself: Otis Redding, Sturgill Simpson, and David Johansen are just a few of the artists featured on the album accompanying the drama’s premiere episode, the network announced Friday.

Vinyl stars Bobby Cannavale, Ray Romano, and Juno Temple as employees at a struggling New York record label in the ’70s, and highlights the music of that era. “The early 1970s, and 1973 in particular, was a time of great change in the music industry, and it all started in New York City — punk, disco, hip-hop, they all began that year right here in the city,” Scorsese recently told EW. “So we decided to start there and see where it would take us.”

The 18-track soundtrack will arrive two days before the show’s debut, and a shorter EP of songs will be released digitally each Friday throughout the first season. Iggy Pop, Julian Casablancas, Charli XCX, and Trey Songz are all set to contribute to these EPs, which will be mixes of both prereleased tracks and songs written specifically for Vinyl.

Another full-length soundtrack will arrive online and in stores April 15, two days before the first season’s April 17 finale. The first one comes out Feb. 12, and Vinyl debuts on HBO Feb. 14 at 9 p.m. ET. See the tracklist for the premiere’s soundtrack below. 

1. “The World Is Yours,” Ty Taylor

2. “Personality Crisis,” David Johansen

3.  “No Good,” Kaleo

4. “Sugar Daddy (Theme from Vinyl),” Sturgill Simpson

5. “Mama He Treats Your Daughter Mean,” Ruth Brown

6. “Mr. Pitiful,” Otis Redding

7. Dee Dee Warwick – Suspicious Minds

8. “All the Way From Memphis,” Mott the Hoople 

9. “Stranded in the Jungle,” David Johansen 

10. “I Like it Like That,” Chris Kenner 

11. “Cha Cha Twist,” Ty Taylor

12. “It’s Just Begun,” The Jimmy Castor Bunch

13. “Want Ads,” Soda Machine 

14. “Hand Clapping Song,” The Meters 

15. “Slippin’ Into Darkness,” Soda Machine 

16. “Frankenstein,” Edgar Winter 

17. “Rotten Apple,” Nasty Bits 

18. “I Just Want To Make Love To You,” Foghat