Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


Writers Guild Awards 2016 video game nominees announced

Posted on

After already revealing its film nominees, the Writers Guild of America has unveiled which of 2015’s video games have also been nominated for this year’s Writers Guild Awards.

The Game Awards’ game of the year winner The Witcher 3 has been nominated for Outstanding Achievement in Video Game Writing, along with Rise of the Tomb Raider, which earned a spot on EW’s best games of 2015 listAssassin’s Creed Syndicate, and Pillars of Eternity. The Assassin’s Creed series has won twice before, while Naughty Dog’s The Last of Us, and its additional content Left Behind have won the award in the last two years.

Check out the list of film screenplays nominated for the WGAs here. The winner will be announced on Feb. 13. For more on these games, check out EW’s review of Tomb Raider and impressions of Assassin’s Creed Syndicate.