Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


Star Wars The Force Awakens Best Picture nomination to be considered by Critics' Choice

Posted on

Lucasfilm Ltd./Courtesy Everett Collection

The Critics’ Choice Awards nominations were announced earlier this week, with 10 films nominated for Best Picture. But with the release of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, the force is so strong with the latest entry in the franchise that it may find its name added as an 11th nominee.

A representative for the Critics’ Choice Awards and the Broadcast Film Critics Association, which votes on the awards, confirmed to EW that the BFCA will be polled on Monday to consider whether, had they seen The Force Awakens before nominating films, would they have included it as a Best Picture nominee.

Upon seeing the film, many BFCA members expressed the opinion that Star Wars: The Force Awakens should be included among the Critics’ Choice Awards ‘Best Picture’ nominees,” an official statement provided to EW said. “The film was not screened for awards voters in time for the BFCA voting deadline and therefore was not considered in this year’s voting. However, at the urging of its membership, the BFCA has decided to poll its members to decide if the film should be added as an 11th Best Picture nominee.”

The original 10 films nominated for the top prize are: The Big Short, Bridge of Spies, Brooklyn, Carol, Mad Max: Fury Road, The Martian, The Revenant, Room, Sicario, and Spotlight. The final decision about The Force Awakens, which is already breaking box office records, will be announced on Dec. 22. The Critics’ Choice Awards air Jan. 17.