Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


Sam Smith announces 'In The Lonely Hour Drowning Shadows' edition, featuring new songs and covers

Posted on

Sam Smith’s 2014 album In The Lonely Hour opened at No. 2 on the Billboard 200 and won Best Pop Vocal Album at the Grammys, but still has more to offer. Smith announced early Friday morning In The Lonely Hour Drowning Shadows edition, a two-disc set which features a new track “Drowning Shadows,” bonus versions of older songs, and new covers. He calls the move his “final bow” before his second album.

The new collection features an acoustic rendition of “Omen,” his single off Disclosure’s recent album Caracal, a live version of “Latch,” “Stay With Me” featuring Mary J. Blige, his cover of Whitney Houston’s “How Will I Know” and more.

He posted “Drowning Shadows” to Soundcloud shortly after breaking the news.

Smith posted a full message to fans on Instagram: “Ladies and Gents, Boys and Gals. I am so excited to announce my final surprise for you all. Here I give you ‘In The Lonely Hour Drowning Shadows Edition’ http://po.st/brUugE – This is a present directly from me to my fans. This album, this journey has completely changed my life. So I have listened to all your wants and wishes and put some tracks on this album you all wanted originally. I also have a new song, and a special new cover for you all. This is my thank you to you all, and officially my final bow before my second album. I love you all unconditionally xx”

The whole collection is available via iTunes. See the tracklist below.

Disc 1

1. Money On My Mind

2. Good Thing

3. Stay With Me

4. Leave Your Lover

5. I’m Not The Only One

6. I’ve Told You Now

7. Like I Can

8. Life Support

9. Not In That Way

10. Lay Me Down

11. Restart

12. Latch (Acoustic)

13. La La La

14. Make It To Me

Disc 2

1. Drowning Shadows

2. Love Is A Losing Game

3. Nirvana

4. How Will I Know?

5. Omen (Acoustic) feat. Disclosure

6. Latch feat. Disclosure (Live from Madison Square Garden, New York)

7. Stay With Me feat. Mary J Blige

8. I’m Not The Only One feat. A$AP Rocky

9. Lay Me Down feat. John Legend