Tim Stack
July 01, 2015 at 12:00 PM EDT

X-Men: Apocalypse, the anticipated follow-up to X-Men: Days of Future Past, will not only introduce fan-favorite villain Apocalypse (Oscar Isaac) and a major new mutant in telepath Psylocke (Olivia Munn), but also teen incarnations of some of the comic’s most famed char­acters, including Storm (Alexandra Shipp), Cyclops (Tye Sheridan), Jean Grey (Sophie Turner), and ­Nightcrawler (Kodi Smit-McPhee). “This is kind of a conclusion of six X-Men films, yet a potential rebirth of younger, newer characters,” says director Bryan Singer, helming his fourth X-Men movie.

Arriving in theaters on May 27, 2016, Apocalypse is set in 1983 and finds the mutants, including Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence), Magneto (Michael Fassbender), and Charles (James McAvoy), taking sides as the godlike Apocalypse plots world destruction. “This is the true birth of the X-Men,” Singer says. “This is how it happens.”

Check out the latest issue of EW here.

Related Stories

Jennifer Lawrence will leave X-Men after X-Men: Apocalypse

Is this Olivia Munn’s skimpy X-Men: Apocalypse Psylocke costume?

You May Like