Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


'Boyhood' takes home Best Film prize at BAFTA Awards

Posted on

The Theory of Everything won the award for Outstanding British Film at Sunday’s BAFTA Awards, but it lost the overall Best Film prize to Richard Linklater’s Boyhood, which also won Best Director and Best Supporting Actress. 

Despite winning three awards though, Boyhood wasn’t the winningest movie of the day: That title goes to The Grand Budapest Hotel, which was nominated for 11 awards total and nabbed five. 

The BAFTA Awards are often a predictor of who will win what at the upcoming Academy Awards—meaning Boyhood and The Grand Budapest Hotel might be having a particularly good Oscar night come Feb. 22.

See the entire winners list below:

Outstanding British Film

The Imitation Game 



Winner: The Theory of Everything

Under the Skin

Original Music

Birdman, Antonio Sanchez

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel, Alexandre Desplat

Interstellar, Hans Zimmer

The Theory of Everything, Johann Johannsson

Under the Skin, Mica Levi


20 Feet From Stardom

20,000 Days on Earth

Winner: Citizenfour

Finding Vivian Maier


Hair and Makeup

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel, Frances Hannon

Guardians of the Galaxy, Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou, David White

Into the Woods, Peter Swords King, J. Roy Helland

Mr. Turner, Christine Blundell, Lesa Warrener

The Theory of Everything, Jan Sewell

Production Design

Big Eyes, Rick Heinrichs, Shane Vieau

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel, Adam Stockhausen, Anna Pinnock

The Imitation Game, Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana MacDonald

Interstellar, Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis

Mr. Turner, Suzie Davies, Charlotte Watts

Best Film


Winner: Boyhood 

The Grand Budapest Hotel

The Imitation Game

The Theory of Everything 

Best Animated Film

Big Hero 6

The Boxtrolls

Winner: The Lego Movie

Best Director

Birdman, Alejandro G. Inarritu

Winner: Boyhood, Richard Linklater

The Grand Budapest Hotel, Wes Anderson

The Theory of Everything, James Marsh

Whiplash, Damien Chazelle

Original Screenplay

Birdman, Alejandro G. Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr, Armando Bo

Boyhood, Richard Linklater

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel, Wes Anderson

Nightcrawler, Dan Gilroy

Whiplash, Damien Chazelle

Adapted Screenplay

American Sniper, Jason Hall

Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn

The Imitation Game, Graham Moore

Paddington, Paul King

Winner: The Theory of Everything, Anthony McCarten

Leading Actor

Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game

Winner: Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

Jake Gyllenhaal, Nightcrawler

Michael Keaton, Birdman

Ralph Fiennes, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Leading Actress

Amy Adams, Big Eyes

Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything

Winner: Julianne Moore, Still Alice

Reese Witherspoon, Wild

Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl

Supporting Actor

Edward Norton, Birdman

Ethan Hawke, Boyhood

Winner: J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher

Steve Carell, Foxcatcher

Supporting Actress

Emma Stone, Birdman

Imelda Staunton, Pride

Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game

Winner: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood

Rene Russo, Nightcrawler


Winner: Birdman, Emmanuel Lubezki

The Grand Budapest Hotel, Robert Yeoman

Ida, Lukasz Zal, Ryzsard Lenczewski

Interstellar, Hoyte van Hoytema

Mr. Turner, Dick Pope


Birdman, Douglas Crise, Stephen Mirrione

The Grand Budapest Hotel, Barney Pilling

The Imitation Game, William Goldenberg

Nightcrawler, John Gilroy

The Theory of Everything, Jinx Godfrey

Winner: Whiplash, Tom Cross

Outstanding Debut by a British Actor, Director, or Producer

Elaine Constantine (writer/director), Northern Soul

Gregory Burke (writer) and Yann Demange (director), ’71

Hong Khaou (writer/director), Lilting

Paul Katis (director/producer) and Andrew de Lotbiniere (producer), Kajaki: The True Story

Winner: Stephen Beresford (writer) and David Livingstone (producer), Pride

Film Not in the English Language

Winner: Ida, Pawel Pawlikowski, Eric Abraham, Piotr Dzieciol, Ewa Puszczynska

Leviathan, Andrey Zvyagintsev, Alexander Rodnyansky, Sergey Melkumov

The Lunchbox, Ritesh Batra, Arun Rangachari, Anurag Kashyap, Guneet Monga

Trash, Stephen Daldry, Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Kris Thykier

Two Days, One Night, Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Luc Dardenne, Denis Freyd

Costume Design

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel, Milena Canonero

The Imitation Game, Sammy Sheldon Differ

Into the Woods, Colleen Atwood

Mr. Turner, Jacqueline Durran

The Theory of Everything, Steven Noble


American Sniper, Walt Martin, John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff, Alan Robert Murray, Bub Asman

Birdman, Thomas Varga, Martin Hernández, Aaron Glascock, Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño

The Grand Budapest Hotel, Wayne Lemmer, Christopher Scarabosio, Pawel Wdowczak

The Imitation Game, John Midgley, Lee Walpole, Stuart Hilliker, Martin Jensen

Winner: Whiplash, Thomas Curley, Ben Wilkins, Craig Mann

Special Visual Effects

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Erik Winquist, Daniel Barrett

Guardians of the Galaxy, Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould, Jonathan Fawkner, Nicolas Aithadi

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, R. Christopher White

Winner: Interstellar, Paul Franklin, Scott Fisher, Andrew Lockley

X-Men: Days of Future Past, Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands, Tim Crosbie, Cameron Waldbauer

British Short Animation

Winner: The Bigger Picture, Chris Hees, Daisy Jacobs, Jennifer Majka

Monkey Love Experiments, Ainslie Henderson, Cam Fraser, Will Anderson

My Dad, Marcus Armitage

British Short Film

Winner: Boogaloo and Graham, Brian J. Falconer, Michael Lennox, Ronan Blaney

Emotional Fusebox, Michael Berliner, Rachel Tunnard

The Karman Line, Campbell Beaton, Dawn King, Tiernan Hanby, Oscar Sharp

Slap, Islay Bell-Webb, Michelangelo Fano, Nick Rowland

Three Brothers, Aleem Khan, Matthieu de Braconier, Stephanie Paeplow

EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)

Gugu Mbatha-Raw

Jack O’Connell

Margot Robbie

Miles Teller

Shailene Woodley