Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


Oscars announce 114 films advancing in Best Original Score category

Posted on

The Academy has announced 114 film scores eligible for the Best Original Score at the 87th Oscars, including Gone Girl, Big Hero 6, The Fault in Our Stars, and more.  The nominees will be announced on Jan. 15.

Here’s the full list of contenders:

American Revolutionary: The Evolution of Grace Lee Boggs, Vivek Maddala, composer

Anita, Lili Haydn, composer

Annabelle, Joseph Bishara, composer

At Middleton, Arturo Sandoval, composer

Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt?, Elia Cmiral, composer

Bears, George Fenton, composer

Belle, Rachel Portman, composer

Big Eyes, Danny Elfman, composer

Big Hero 6, Henry Jackman, composer

The Book of Life, Gustavo Santaolalla and Tim Davies, composers

The Boxtrolls, Dario Marianelli, composer

Brick Mansions, Trevor Morris, composer

Cake, Christophe Beck, composer

Calvary, Patrick Cassidy, composer

Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Henry Jackman, composer

The Case against 8, Blake Neely, composer

Cheatin’, Nicole Renaud, composer

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Michael Giacchino, composer

The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: Them, Son Lux, composer

Divergent, Tom Holkenborg, composer

Dolphin Tale 2, Rachel Portman, composer

Dracula Untold, Ramin Djawadi, composer

Draft Day, John Debney, composer

The Drop, Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, composers

Earth to Echo, Joseph Trapanese, composer

Edge of Tomorrow, Christophe Beck, composer

Endless Love, Christophe Beck and Jake Monaco, composers

The Equalizer, Harry Gregson-Williams, composer

Exodus: Gods and Kings, Alberto Iglesias, composer

The Fault in Our Stars, Mike Mogis, composer

Finding Vivian Maier, J. Ralph, composer

Fury, Steven Price, composer

Garnet’s Gold, J. Ralph, composer

Girl on a Bicycle, Craig Richey, composer

The Giver, Marco Beltrami, composer

Godzilla, Alexandre Desplat, composer

Gone Girl, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, composers

The Good Lie, Martin Léon, composer

The Grand Budapest Hotel, Alexandre Desplat, composer

The Great Flood, Bill Frisell, composer

Hercules, Fernando Velázquez, composer

The Hero of Color City, Zoë Poledouris-Roché and Angel Roché Jr., composers

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, Howard Shore, composer

The Homesman, Marco Beltrami, composer

Horrible Bosses 2, Christopher Lennertz, composer

How to Train Your Dragon 2, John Powell, composer

The Hundred-Foot Journey, A.R. Rahman, composer

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 1, James Newton Howard, composer

I Origins, Will Bates and Phil Mossman, composers

The Imitation Game, Alexandre Desplat, composer

Inherent Vice, Jonny Greenwood, composer

Interstellar, Hans Zimmer, composer

The Interview, Henry Jackman, composer

Into the Storm, Brian Tyler, composer

Jal, Sonu Nigam and Bickram Ghosh, composers

The Judge, Thomas Newman, composer

Kill the Messenger, Nathan Johnson, composer

Kochadaiiyaan, A.R. Rahman, composer

Legends of Oz: Dorothy’s Return, Toby Chu, composer

The Lego Movie, Mark Mothersbaugh, composer

The Liberator, Gustavo Dudamel, composer

Life Itself, Joshua Abrams, composer

Living Is Easy With Eyes Closed, Pat Metheny, composer

Lucy, Eric Serra, composer

Maleficent, James Newton Howard, composer

The Maze Runner, John Paesano, composer

Merchants of Doubt, Mark Adler, composer

Million Dollar Arm, A.R. Rahman, composer

A Million Ways to Die in the West, Joel McNeely, composer

Mr. Peabody & Sherman, Danny Elfman, composer

Mr. Turner, Gary Yershon, composer

The Monuments Men, Alexandre Desplat, composer

A Most Violent Year, Alex Ebert, composer

My Old Lady, Mark Orton, composer

Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb, Alan Silvestri, composer

Nightcrawler, James Newton Howard, composer

No God, No Master, Nuno Malo, composer

Noah, Clint Mansell, composer

Non-Stop, John Ottman, composer

The One I Love, Danny Bensi and Saunder Jurriaans, composers

Ouija, Anton Sanko, composer

Paddington, Nick Urata, composer

Penguins of Madagascar, Lorne Balfe, composer

Pompeii, Clinton Shorter, composer

The Purge: Anarchy, Nathan Whitehead, composer

The Railway Man, David Hirschfelder, composer

Red Army, Christophe Beck and Leo Birenberg, composers

Ride Along, Christopher Lennertz, composer

Rocks in My Pockets, Kristian Sensini, composer

Rosewater, Howard Shore, composer

St. Vincent, Theodore Shapiro, composer

The Salt of the Earth, Laurent Petitgand, composer

Selma, Jason Moran, composer

The Signal, Nima Fakhrara, composer

Snowpiercer, Marco Beltrami, composer

Song of the Sea, Bruno Coulais, composer

Still Alice, Ilan Eshkeri, composer

The Tale of the Princess Kaguya, Joe Hisaishi, composer

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Brian Tyler, composer

That Awkward Moment, David Torn, composer

The Theory of Everything, Jóhann Jóhannsson, composer

This Is Where I Leave You, Michael Giacchino, composer

300: Rise of an Empire, Tom Holkenborg, composer

Tracks, Garth Stevenson, composer

Transformers: Age of Extinction, Steve Jablonsky, composer

22 Jump Street, Mark Mothersbaugh, composer

Unbroken, Alexandre Desplat, composer

Under the Skin, Mica Levi, composer

Virunga, Patrick Jonsson, composer

Visitors, Philip Glass, composer

A Walk among the Tombstones, Carlos Rafael Rivera, composer

Walking With the Enemy, Timothy Williams, composer

Wild Tales, Gustavo Santaolalla, composer

X-Men: Days of Future Past, John Ottman, composer