Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


Louise Erdrich wins American Book Award

Posted on

Louise Erdrich’s novel The Round House is among the winners this year of an American Book Award, which celebrates the diversity of the country’s literature.

Others among the 34 honored at a ceremony this weekend at the Miami Book Fair International included Philip P. Choy’s San Francisco Chinatown: A Guide To Its History & Architecture and Judy Grahn’s A Simple Revolution: The Making of an Activist Poet.

Critic Greil Marcus won for lifetime achievement. Natalie Diaz’s poetry collection When My Brother Was an Aztec and Will Alexander’s book of essays Singing in Magnetic Hoofbeat also won prizes.

There were no cash awards or individual competitive categories.

The awards were established in 1980 by the Before Columbus Foundation, a nonprofit organization founded by author-poet-playwright Ishmael Reed that promotes multicultural literature.