Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


Claire Danes is Hasty Pudding's Woman of the Year

Posted on

Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images

She may have gone to Yale, but this week Claire Danes will be at Harvard, as the Hasty Pudding Theatricals crown her Woman of the Year. On January 26 she will lead a parade through Cambridge, followed by the presentation of the Pudding Pot at the annual roast. The Man of the Year has not yet been announced. Last year, Julianne Moore and Jay Leno were Woman and Man of the Year, respectively. Other pairings of past years include Anne Hathaway and Justin Timberlake, Scarlett Johanssen and Christopher Walken, and Renee Zellweger and James Franco.

The Hasty Pudding Theatricals were founded in 1795 and have been doling out the title of Woman of the Year since 1951, when Gertrude Lawrence was honored. For a look back on previous men and women who’ve been deemed worthy of the society’s highest honor, check out the history of Hasty Pudding.

Danes recently won the best actress in a TV series (Drama) Golden Globe for her role in the Showtime series Homeland.

Read more:

Julianne Moore named Hasty Pudding Woman of the Year 2011

Jay Leno named Hasty Pudding Man of the Year 2011

Claire Danes: Golden Globes – Who will win?