Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


Meryl Streep and James Taylor among recipients of National Medal of Arts

Posted on

Meryl Streep, James Taylor, Quincy Jones and six other American artists will be honored today at the White House when President Obama presents the National Medal of Arts, the nation’s highest honor for artistic excellence. “The National Medal of Arts recipients represent the many vibrant and diverse art forms thriving in America,” said NEA Chairman Rocco Landesman, in a statement. “From criticism to literature, music, poetry, sculpture, and theater, these honorees’ devotion to shaping and sharing American art is unrivaled, and I join the President and the country in saluting them.” The entire list of honorees is after the jump:

The 2010 National Medal of Arts Recipients are:

Robert Brustein, Theatrical Critic, Producer, Playwright, and Educator

Van Cliburn, Pianist and Music Educator

Mark di Suvero, Sculptor

Donald Hall, Poet

Quincy Jones, Musician and Music Producer

Harper Lee, Author

Sonny Rollins, Jazz Musician

Meryl Streep, Actress

James Taylor, Singer and Songwriter

Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival (Becket, Mass.)