Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


Fox announces midseason schedule

Posted on

Today, Fox announced the premiere dates for this winter’s new and returning shows. Along with ordering a full season of Lie To Me, the network has scheduled a special Jan. 10 episode of The Simpsons celebrating the series’ 450 episode. Fox will also unveil a Simpsons documentary, The Simpsons 20th Anniversary Special: in 3-D! on Ice! from filmmaker Morgan Spurlock that night. Their line-up of new shows includes: Past Life, a drama inspired by the book The Reincarnationist, set to premiere Feb. 11; Human Target, a series about a private contractor that premieres Jan. 17; Our Little Genius, a game show for gifted kids, premiering Jan. 13; and Sons of Tucson, a comedy following three brothers who hire a new father when their real one is imprisoned. (The latter will premiere March 14.) Some other highlights:

*American Idol will premiere its ninth season Tuesday, Jan. 12.

*A new season of Kitchen Nightmares begins Jan. 29.

*24 will kick off with a two-night, four-hour event Jan. 17 and 18.

*Glee switches to Tuesday nights starting April 13, when the network will air all-new episodes following the series’ Dec. 9 fall finale.

*The network will offer all-new episodes of Fringe starting April 1. The show’s winter finale will air Feb. 4.

*The series finale of Dollhouse will air Jan. 22.