Tina Jordan
May 09, 2008 AT 04:00 AM EDT

The Art of Racing in the Rain

type
Book
Current Status
In Season
author
Garth Stein
publisher
HarperCollins
genre
Fiction

We gave it an B-

Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice: Here’s a schmaltz-soaked novel told from the point of view of a large, lovable mutt named Enzo. From his deathbed, the pooch recalls his beloved Denny, a struggling race-car driver; Denny’s wife, Eve, who succumbs to brain cancer; and their daughter, Zoë. (Enzo smelled the cancer — ”like rotting wood, mushrooms, decay” — long before doctors detected it.) Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain is sweet but predictable, from Denny’s custody battle with Zoë’s grandparents to the heart-tugging end. Yet to my surprise, I teared up when Enzo went to the Endless Field in the Sky. B-

You May Like

Comments

EDIT POST