Entertainment Weekly

Stay Connected

Subscribe

Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content

Article

The Art of Racing in the Rain

Posted on

The Art of Racing in the Rain

type:
Book
Current Status:
In Season
author:
64679
publisher:
HarperCollins
genre:
Fiction

We gave it a B-

Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice: Here’s a schmaltz-soaked novel told from the point of view of a large, lovable mutt named Enzo. From his deathbed, the pooch recalls his beloved Denny, a struggling race-car driver; Denny’s wife, Eve, who succumbs to brain cancer; and their daughter, Zoë. (Enzo smelled the cancer — ”like rotting wood, mushrooms, decay” — long before doctors detected it.) Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain is sweet but predictable, from Denny’s custody battle with Zoë’s grandparents to the heart-tugging end. Yet to my surprise, I teared up when Enzo went to the Endless Field in the Sky. B-

Comments