Entertainment Weekly

Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


The Complete On the Corner Sessions

Posted on

Miles Davis
Everett Collection

The Complete On the Corner Sessions

Current Status:
In Season
Miles Davis

We gave it an A-

The Complete On the Corner Sessions, a lavishly packaged six-disc set, compiles Miles Davis’ studio work between 1972 and 1975, epic jams (many previously unreleased) that would provide material for 1972’s On the Corner and 1974’s Big Fun and Get Up With It. ”Improvisational funk” is how percussionist Mtume describes it in the liner notes, and that’s accurate to a point. Yet it hardly captures the sinister swirl of heavy bass, complex rhythm, and even sitar and tabla that Davis conjured. How could such exhilarating music have been widely derided at the time? A-
DOWNLOAD THIS: Hear an audio clip of ”Turnaround” at barnesandnoble.com