Entertainment Weekly


Stay Connected


Advertise With Us

Learn More

Skip to content


The ''O Brother'' soundtrack picks up surprise CMAs

”Constant Sorrow” resonates with country fans

Posted on

Dan Tyminski, Country Music Awards 2000
Soggy Bottom Boys: Alan Mayor/WireImage.com

They’re gonna have to rename it ”I Am a Man of Only Occasional Sorrow.” The surprise hit soundtrack to ”O Brother, Where Art Thou?” had a huge night at this year’s Country Music Association awards (held Nov. 7 in Nashville). The song ”I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow” beat out Lonestar, Brooks & Dunn, Sara Evans, and Diamond Rio for single of the year, while ”Brother” scored album of the year over Evans, Brooks & Dunn, Tim McGraw, and Alan Jackson. It’s especially notable given the tune’s scarcity on country radio; singles of the year are almost always big radio hits. ”I was dumbfounded,” says Dan Tyminski (of Alison Krauss’ Union Station), who moonlights in one-off band the Soggy Bottom Boys and sang ”Sorrow” on the CD. ”I thought the album had a chance, but single of the year? I would’ve bet the farm against that one, just for lack of airplay. After the album went double platinum, it surprised me more people didn’t say, ‘Maybe we should play it now.’ I think people kept waiting for it to go away. Oddly enough, it won’t.”

Additional reporting by Bob Cannon